New president in the Canadian Hellenic Congress

The Canadian Hellenic Congress held its Bi-Annual Convention & Elections at the Marriott Hotel in Ottawa, ON. Seventy-five Delegates from five provinces attended.
A new National Council was elected for the term 2009-2011. In turn, the new National Council, elected the members of the Executive Committee.

Mr. Crist Geronikolos (foto) was elected President.

Canadian Hellenic Congress 2009-2011 National Council:

President: Crist Geronikolos (ON)
Executive Vice-President: George Manolikakis (QC)
Secretary and VP, Administration: Bill Vardas (ON)
Treasurer and VP, Finance: George Koufalis (QC)
VP, Public Relations: George Calaritis (QC)
VP, Socio-economic Issues: Zissis Fotopoulos (QC)
VP, Women’s Issues: Irini Panagopoulou (QC)
VP, Youth Affairs: Rosie Dogantzis (ON)

Regional Vice-Presidents:
VP, Atlantic: Nick Papadopoulos (NB)
VP, Quebec: Stavros Tsinalis (QC)
VP, Ontario: Costas Kranias (ON)
VP, Western: Antonia MacDonald (AB)
VP, Pacific: George Bonnis (BC)

Ex-Officio Members:
Past-President:    Demetrius Manolakos (QC)
President, Greek Community of Toronto:    Costas Menegakis
President, Hellenic Community of Montreal: Billy Balabanos
President, Hellenic Community of Vancouver: Peter Kletas
President, Greek Orthodox Community of Laval: John Papadakis
President, Hellenic Canadian Congress of BC: Demetrios Douzenis
President, Hellenic Canadian Congress of Alberta: Dr. Athanasios Tavouktsoglou
President, Canadian Hellenic Congress of Manitoba: Dr. Pantelis Halamandaris
President, Hellenic-Canadian Federation of Ontario: Mike Neroulas
President, Hellenic Congress of Quebec: Peter Georgakakos

Councillors (alphabetically):
Dr. Athanasios Foussias (ON)
John Giapitzakis (QC)
Yannis Kakagiannis (ON)
George Kakarelis (ON)
Elias Koutinas (ON)
Demetra Lykidis (AB)
Tassos Theodoridis (ON)

The 2009-2011 National Council will serve a 2-year term. It’s mandate runs until May 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here